If you are looking for the best guide to gluten-free alcohol you’ve come to the right place! Here you will find reliable, easy answers and a complete GF liquor list. Plus, this resource includes which brands of gluten-free vodka, gin, tequila, whiskey, and other spirits are safe for those with celiac disease or gluten sensitivities. Discover everything you need to know right here!
Is Alcohol gluten-free?
When people transition to a gluten-free diet it’s natural to first think about what foods and ingredients to avoid, but what about mixed drinks and cocktails? Is liquor gluten-free?
Due to the distillation process, many liquors are considered safe for those with celiac disease, gluten-sensitivity, or gluten-intolerance. So, yes, alcohol is gluten-free, but there are some things to watch out for.
Some brands add flavorings or other additives after distillation, meaning they can possibly contain harmful ingredients. Also, the process of making spirits starts with a fermented “mash” containing gluten ingredients, like wheat or barley.
The rounds of distillation, though, filter out traces of gluten meaning it is safe to enjoy for most (according to the Celiac Disease Foundation). Some highly-sensitive individuals find they can only consume spirits made from a GF base, such as sugar, corn, potatoes, or grapes.
So why aren’t liquor bottles labeled “gluten-free” if they are safe to consume? In the United States, the Tobacco, Tax and Trade Bureau does not allow anything to be labeled “GF” if it is made from gluten-containing ingredients, even if distillation removes any traces.
Only liquors made entirely from non-gluten ingredients can be labeled as certified “gluten-free.” Liquor treated through the distillation to remove harmful traces usually reads, “processed to remove gluten.”
Here you will find all the best gluten-free alcohol brands, along with the answer to many common questions, such as if vodka is gluten-free, a reliable liquor list, and what to be aware of. Then, be sure to move on to this complete gluten-free beer list and safely unwind with your favorite drink of choice!
ingredients to watch out for
Looking for gluten-free alcohol brands can be tricky because the ingredients aren’t typically listed like nutritional food labels. So how do you know which liquors are gluten-free?
Brands clearly label their bottles GF only if the mash did not start with gluten-containing ingredients. However, that doesn’t mean liquors not labelled aren’s safe. Go to the manufacture’s website to see how it’s made or if any questionable flavorings have been added.
Even if the liquor starts with a wheat, barley, or malt mash, the distillation process removes gluten. However, watch out for brands that add post-distillation ingredients for flavorings, especially flavored liquors!
Even though the majority of liquors are safe to enjoy, you many want to know specifically if your favorite alcohol contains any gluten. Listed below are specific criteria or ingredients to watch out for in liquors, such as vodka, gin, tequila, rum, whiskey, brandy, and liqueurs.
Also included are the best liquor brands to enjoy, as well many tasty gluten-free cocktails, perfect for entertaining or holidays. If there is anything else you would love to see in this resource, be sure to share in the comments below the post!
Is Vodka gluten-free?
Many people with celiac, or those who need to avoid gluten, wonder if vodka is gluten-free and safe to consume. The confusion comes from the process of making vodka, which starts with a mash containing unsafe ingredients, like wheat, barley, malt, and rye.
However, according to beyondceliac.org, even if it is made with wheat, barley, or rye, the distillation process makes vodka gluten-free. Distilling 3 to even 10 times removes any impurities or traces of gluten. However, to be completely safe, or if you are highly sensitive, consume vodkas made from potatoes, corn, or grapes.
Also, some producers may add a bit of mash into the vodka after distillation, contaminating it with gluten. Use precaution with flavored vodkas, which add flavorings or other ingredients post distillation
Gluten-Free Vodka Brands
Some vodka brands clearly label their bottles as GF, but what about brands not clearly identified? Below you will find a gluten-free vodka list to enjoy on the rocks, in a martini, or in cocktails like vodka lemonade or a blueberry moscow mule.
Even though many of these brands are grain-based, they are considered gluten-free. The distillation process, repeated 3-10 times, removes traces of gluten. Consume at your own risk, especially if you are highly-sensitive.
- Three Olives
- Ketel One
- New Amsterdam
Is gin Gluten-free?
Gin is a botanical liquor made from a base of wheat or barley. It’s distinct flavor comes from adding juniper berries to the mash before fermentation, which gives it that hint of pine.
Like vodka, the question of if gin is gluten-free can be confusing since it starts with a wheat base. However, the distillation process removes any triggering gluten proteins meaning many experts believe it is safe to consume in gluten-free cocktails.
If you find yourself still reacting to common gin brands, some manufacturers do start with a gluten-free base, such as potatoes. G’vine gin, Beattie’s, and Cold River gin are all made from potatoes so you don’t have to worry about risking a reaction!
Gluten-Free Gin Brands
Whether you love a tasty gin and tonic (tonic is GF!) or like to enjoy craft cocktails, such as a gin basil smash, choose from one of these widely-distributed gluten-free gin brands listed below.
While they start with a wheat-based mash, distillation removes gluten so many people can consume safely. Avoid if you find yourself highly reactive, try one of the potato based gins listed above.
- Bombay Dry
- Bombay Sapphire
- Gin Mare
- The Botanist
Is tequila Gluten-free?
Tequila can be a little less confusing than other spirits to determine if it is gluten-free. Traditionally it’s made from the blue agave plant, meaning bottles labeled 100% agave are safe to enjoy on a gluten-free diet.
Some tequilas are made with a mixture of agave and other ingredients. These are considered “mixtos,” which are 51% agave and 49% cane sugar, corn syrup, other flavorers or thickeners. Determining if a mixto is safe can be more confusing since it’s not clearly known what it contains.
Mixto bottles are still labeled “tequila,” but will be missing the “100% agave” label. Not all mixto brands are unsafe, though. Jose Cuervo Gold, Jose Cuervo Silver, Sauza Gold, and Sauza Silver are popular mixto tequilas safe to consume.
Gluten-Free Tequila Brands
Whether you prefer a blanco, reposodo, or anegjo, or cristalino there are many gluten-free tequila brands to enjoy! High quality brands are enjoyable simply on the rocks, in a paloma, limeade margarita, or as a refreshing skinny margarita!
- Jose Cuervo Gold and Silver
- Don Julio (all varieties)
- El Jimador
- Cabo Wabo
- Casa Noble
- Gran Centenario
- Olmeca Altos
Is rum Gluten-free?
If you are worried about the liquors starting off with a wheat base, then rum is the spirit for you! Rum is made from sugarcane, so it is gluten-free and safe to enjoy!
Similar to other liquors, beware of flavors or colorings added post-production, and it’s always best to cross reference with the manufacturer.
Gluten-Free Rum Brands
Pure rum doesn’t add flavorings, spices, or additives after distillation so these are the safest options to enjoy. Spiced rums, also known as gold or dark rums, infuse flavor from natural herbs, spices and aging in oak barrels.
- Capitan Morgan
- Bacardi Gold or Superior
- Sailor Jerry
- Mount Gay
- Appleton Estate
- Havana Club
- Myer’s Dark
Is whiskey Gluten-free?
Varieties of whisky, including bourbon and scotch, all start with fermented grains, usually corn, barley, rye, and wheat, then aged in wooden barrels. Bourbon, a whiskey made exclusively in the United States, has to use at least 51% corn. Scotch whisky, made in Scotland, typically uses a single grain, like barley. Everything else generally labelled “whiskey” uses a combination of the grains.
Therefore whiskey, scotch, and bourbon all start with grains that are not gluten-free, so what does this mean? The Celiac Disease Foundation has concluded that whiskey is gluten-free due to the distillation process. Since they start with gluten-containing grains, however, some people may still react, so consume with precaution.
Gluten-Free Whisky Brands
As with many on this list of the best gluten-free liquors, be careful of manufacturers adding flavorings, colorings, or mash back to the product post-production.
I left Fireball whiskey off because there seems to be some controversy around it. While the company states it is gluten-free due to distillation, it seems that highly sensitive individuals do react to it. It could be because Fireball adds flavorings after distillation.
For a tasty gluten-free cocktail, pick a whiskey, bourbon, or scotch below and try a manhattan, hot toddy, or this peach old fashioned!
- Crown Royal
- Jack Daniel’s
- Jim Beam
- Evan Williams
- J&B Scotch
- Johnny Walker
- Southern Comfort
- Knob Creek
- Wild Turkey
- Maker’s Mark
- Elijah Craig
- Four Roses
- Basil Hayden’s
Liqueurs start with a mash just like any other spirits. Then added sweeteners and flavors make this lower alcohol beverage more palatable. Liqueurs make aperitifs, digestifs after dinner or martini additions, such as in an espresso martini or a more fruity blackberry martini.
- Grand Marnier
- Creme de Menthe
- Creme de Cacoa
- St. Germain Elderflower liqueur
Is Baileys Gluten-free?
Bailey’s Irish Cream has a whisky base with flavorings added post production. The distillation removes the gluten and the additives are gluten-free, so Bailey’s is safe for a gluten-free diet. However, the base does start with gluten-containing grains, so drink with caution, especially if you are highly sensitive.
Is RumChata Gluten-free?
RumChata liqueur, made from tiger nut, sugar, and spices, labels its product as not only gluten-free, but diary-free and vegan.
Is Brandy or Cognac Gluten-free?
Brandy and cognac are distilled from wine or fermented fruit, therefore they are gluten-free. Some varieties may add flavorings to the mixture, so it’s always best to cross-reference with the manufacture.
Some popular gluten-free brandy and cognac brands are Old Admiral, Hennessy, Remy Martin, and Courvoisier. Pick your favorite and mix up a batch of rose sangria!
Gluten-free Canned Cocktails
Good news if you are looking for gluten-free alcoholic drinks in a can! There are many options to choose from with the growing popularity of seltzers, ciders, and canned mixed drinks.
- White Claw
- High Noon
- Mighty Swell
- Bud Light Seltzer (not in Cananda)
- Coors Hard Seltzer
- Bacardi Rum Punch
- Fresca Mixed
- Ketel One Vodka Spritz
SAVE THIS Gluten-Freee Alcohol List TO YOUR PINTEREST BOARD!
Let’s be friends on Pinterest! I’m always sharing great recipes!
This post contains affiliate links. My opinions are always my own. If you purchase a product through an affiliate link, I make a small commission – at no cost to you. Read full disclosure policy here.